Going….. going…… gone

The Steetley Chimney demolition, Hartlepool

27 thoughts on “Going….. going…… gone

    • Thanks Adrian. I did a recce of the area two days ago when I selected the best position to take my photos. When I turned up today, the police had cordonned off my spot so I had to poke my lens through a metal railing and hope for the best!

      • Done really good mate,I think you should shove this in Hartlepool council´s face, if they don´t respond they´re Phillistines! 🙂

  1. OK, this definitely gets the most awesome blog post of the week award!! It felt like I was there watching it happen because of what you did with the second shot. I don’t know if you would be interested or not, but I would love it if you would give us a step by step of how you processed that second shot and what software you used to do it. Outstanding!!

    • Thanks Cindy. The second photo was processed in photoshop 7 and is a blend of six different images. You will obviously need to mount your camera on a tripod when taking the images to ensure that everything apart from the falling chimney remain in the same part of the image. Open the first image in photoshop then open the second in the same window. The second image may appear on top of the first, so drag it away so that you can see what you are doing. Then select the move tool and holding down the shift button, drag the second image into the first. This will be you first layer. Select layer-layer type-blending mode. Set the blending mode to DARKEN, you should now see both imges together. Repeat this for all other layers. I am not an expert on photoshop and my composite is not perfect but it gets the message across. Hope this helps.

  2. Fabulous David! I wasn’t there as we had company and a busy day, but I said my farewells from the train on my way to Newcastle on Friday. Thanks for the memories.

  3. Great shots. Thanks for capturing that moment from an expat Hartlepudlian. Such an iconic image of the town, it’s strange to think it’s no longer there.

Leave a Reply

